Humboldt-School, Kiel

In 2011 and 2013 our school took part in the „GES“ programme as one of the first two pioneer schools. We are happy about working together with the Institute of World Economics in Kiel and the German Central Library for Economics again this year and we are looking forward to joining the “YES! Young Economic Summit”.

 

Our school is a vivid place of learning and teaching full of tradition in the middle of Kiel. Humboldt School is considered as an institution maintaining many relationships to the world, nearby and far away. The basic idea of our pedagogical work is a holistic education of the spirit, the body and the soul.

 

Wilhelm von Humboldt expresses it like that:

 

„DER WAHRE ZWECK DES MENSCHEN IST DIE HÖCHSTE UND PROPORTIONIERLICHSTE BILDUNG SEINER KRÄFTE ZU EINEM GANZEN.“

 

This means: The highest goal of human kind is the formation of his strengths and forces to become whole.

 

Modernly speaking: Our aim is that the pupils become mature, well-balanced, and positive personalities. To reach that it is necessary to gain knowledge, skills and the right attitudes.

 

Our school imparts solid knowledge and the ability of thinking serving as a firm basis for their studies or a similar vocational training.

 

Together with the parents the teachers at Humboldt School strive to educate young people who are optimistic and confident, think critically and constructively and take over responsibility. They also are supposed to be cosmopolitan and respectful towards human beings and nature. Furthermore they must be team-minded being able to deal with conflicts and being ready for changes to stand a constantly altering world.

 

To reach this we focus on four educational principles:

 

We encourage an attentive attitude towards our environment.

We teach pupils to deal responsively with modern technologies.

We educate our pupils extensively by offering experience-orientated culture contact.

We strengthen the social skills of our pupils.

 

Humboldt-Schule
Knooper Weg 63
D-24116 Kiel
Germany

 

E-Mail: humboldt-schule.kiel@schule.landsh.de
Tel: +49 431 260 403 70
Fax: +49 431 260 403 99

 

Humboldt-Schule Kiel online:

Homepage: http://humboldt-kiel.lernnetz.de

Logo Humboldt-Schule Kiel
YES! Team Humboldt-Schule Kiel

YES! 2016 Topic

Your Environment

Implementing the SDGs – Measuring the Sustainable Ocean

 

In continuation and expansion of the Millennium Development Goals (MDG), the United Nations agreed on 17 „Sustainable Development Goals“. During the next 15 years, countries are supposed to put in a lot of effort to end all forms of poverty, overcome inequalities and tackle climate change.

Goal #14 reads: Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas and marine resources for sustainable development

The oceans are essential for life on earth as we know it. They oceans driven global eco-systems and were always important for trade and commerce. The problem of competing utilization, a public use on the one hand (security of life) and a commercial use on the other hand (as a pollutant sink, source of resources and transport), is concentrated here. A long term balance must be established between those competing utilizations. Therefore, a prudent management of oceans and marine resources is key to a sustainable future.

How to ensure a sustainable use of oceans, seas and marine resources? How to quantify and measure a sustainable use of oceans, seas and marine resources? Which measures must be taken to achieve the goals formulated by the UN and what can each and every one of us do to play his/her part?

 

The topic “Implementing the SDGs – Measuring the Sustainable Ocean” stems from the Global Economic Symposium (GES), which is organized by the Kiel Institute for the World Economy in cooperation with the ZBW – Leibniz Information Centre for Economics.

Pictures (from top to bottom): (c) Humboldt-Schule Kiel, shutterstock.com / Chinnapong.

Humboldt-Schule, Kiel

2011 und 2013 hat unsere Schule als eine der ersten beiden Pionierschulen bereits am „GES“ teilgenommen. Wir freuen uns, nach 2015 auch dieses Jahr wieder mit dem Institut für Weltwirtschaft (IfW) und der ZBW – Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft zusammenzuarbeiten und beim YES! – Young Economic Summit mit dabei zu sein.

 

Unsere Schule ist ein traditionsreicher, lebendiger Ort des Lernens und Lehrens in der Mitte Kiels. Sie versteht sich als eigenständiger Lebensraum mit vielfältigen Kontakten in die nahe und ferne Welt.

 

Leitgedanke unserer pädagogischen Arbeit ist die ganzheitliche Bildung von Geist, Körper und Seele. Wilhelm von Humboldt drückt es so aus:

 

„DER WAHRE ZWECK DES MENSCHEN IST DIE HÖCHSTE UND PROPORTIONIERLICHSTE BILDUNG SEINER KRÄFTE ZU EINEM GANZEN.“

 

In zeitgemäßen Worten: Wir möchten erreichen, dass sich Schülerinnen und Schüler zu reifen, ausgeglichenen und lebensfrohen Persönlichkeiten entwickeln. Damit dies gelingt, müssen Kenntnisse, Fertigkeiten und Einstellungen erworben werden.

 

Unsere Schule vermittelt solides Wissen und (Denken-)Können, das den Schülerinnen und Schülern als sicheres Fundament für ihr Studium oder eine vergleichbare Berufsausbildung dient.

 

Zusammen mit den Eltern sind Lehrerinnen und Lehrer darum bemüht, Kinder und Jugendliche zu erziehen, die konstruktiv-kritisch denken, Verantwortung übernehmen, lebensbejahend sind und sich etwas zutrauen. Sie sollen weltoffen sein und respektvoll gegenüber Mensch und Natur. Sie müssen team- und zugleich konfliktfähig werden und zum Wandel bereit sein, um in der sich ständig verändernden Welt bestehen zu können.

 

Um dies zu erreichen, haben wir uns vier pädagogische Schwerpunkte gesetzt:

Wir fördern das sorgsame Verhalten gegenüber unserer natürlichen Umwelt.

Wir erziehen zum verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit modernen Technologien.

Wir bilden umfassend durch erlebnisorientierte Kulturbegegnungen.

Wir stärken die sozialen Fähigkeiten der Schülerinnen und Schüler.

 

Humboldt-Schule
Knooper Weg 63
24116 Kiel

 

E-Mail: humboldt-schule.kiel@schule.landsh.de
Tel: 0431 260 403 70
Fax: 0431 260 403 99

 

Die Humboldt-Schule Kiel im Internet:

Homepage: http://humboldt-kiel.lernnetz.de

Logo Humboldt-Schule Kiel
YES! Team Humboldt-Schule Kiel

YES! 2016 Thema

Your Environment

Implementing the SDGs – Measuring the Sustainable Ocean

 

In Fortsetzung und Erweiterung der Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) haben die Vereinten Nationen 17 „Sustainable Development Goals“ verabschiedet. In den nächsten 15 Jahren sollen die Länder vermehrt Anstrengungen unternehmen, um jegliche Formen von Armut zu beenden, Ungleichheiten zu bekämpfen und gegen den Klimawandel anzugehen.

 

Ziel 14 lautet: Erhaltung und nachhaltigen Nutzung der Ozeane, Meere und Meeresressourcen

 

Die Weltmeere sind für das Leben auf der Erde unerlässlich. Sie regulieren die Temperatur, das Wetter, das Klima. Sie sorgen für Wasser, Nahrung und sogar Sauerstoff. Sie sind wichtige Handels- und Transportwege. In ihnen bündelt sich das Problem konkurrierender Verwendung zwischen einer öffentlichen Nutzung (Sicherung des Lebens) und einer kommerziellen Nutzung (als Schadstoffsenke, Ressourcenquelle und Transportweg). Zwischen beiden Nutzungen muss eine Balance auf Dauer hergestellt werden.

 

Weitere Informationen zum YES! 2016 Thema “Implementing the SDGs – Measuring the Sustainable Ocean” sind hier zu finden.

Bildmaterial (von oben nach unten): (c) Humboldt-Schule Kiel, shutterstock.com / Chinnapong.